top of page

Making a light teal blue Geode

Updated: Apr 13, 2021



Hey! So here is a list of supplies you will need to get started on this specific project


2 wood panels (mine are 16")

Resin

Stir sticks

Pouring cups and a larger cup or bucket for mixing

Cups to raise your panels off of your surface

A level (make sure panels are level)

I also prime my panels first with just primer from a hardware store.

Pigments (I mixed blue and green for a custom color and white)

Alcohol ink

Glass crystals

Torch for popping bubbles

Gloves


Video here.




Ok so first step is to make sure your pouring surface is protected from the resin. Then prime and prep your panels. Once dry you have the option to tape your sides (I prefer the drips) Then draw out a design with pencil to mark where you are going to pour. I don't like a geode "rainbow" look so I like to draw lines that go in different directions.

I mix my resin 50/50 using the inside lines of a red solo cup to ensure I have the exact amounts I need.Then mix together for at least 3 minutes.


Once mixed I separate the resin I am going to tint with my pigments and pour it into individual pouring cups.

I mixed the white first and poured it where I wanted my white to go, followed by my blue/green pigments.

I pour clear where I want my crystals to go because I like how clear they look this way. If I pour them over a tinted resin I find they don't sparkle as much.


Pouring the glass sparkles on where I want them to go. Using a gloved finger to push them into place if they end up somewhere they shouldn't have. Then I use a brush or popsicle stick to drip gold alcohol ink right on top of the resin. I personally love the 3D look this gives.


Then Cure! I like to cure my pieces overnight before doing the line work. This is where it will all get pulled together. Using paint pens I draw lines around the sections, loosely following the design I've done. With more lines closer to the main crystal site and less towards the middle and again more toward the outside of the piece.

From here you can either leave it as is or once the pens are dry pour another flood coat of resin for an ultra shiny look.
















347 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Top resin tips

Here are my top tips for success when creating resin art and where to start for beginners! Tip #1 invest in a good quality resin. There brand Artresin has been my go to for a long time and it never fa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page