top of page

Resin Geode DIY

Ok! So you have decided to make a #geode painting.. now what? Well, for starters you can check out my posts about what you need to get started and then hop back over here and away we go!

I Started making resin geodes a few years ago without ever having seen a tutorial or having seen a lot of art to get ideas from. Geodes were brand new on the "scene" and well, I wasn't going to miss out. So I've taken all the time and effort to make it so you don't have to waste your time or money on expensive online classes or making all of the mistakes I made in the beginning. I'm going to tell you all of my secrets and tips!!! For free! Seriously there is nothing that drives me crazier than hopping onto someone's page to have them tell me I have to sign up for an online class or pay to subscribe. Nope not here. I'm just going to give you step by step instructions on how to do what I do! Gather the girls or guys and set up a group craft night if you want!

SUPPLIES for geodes


Glass glitter. I use either fire glass or vase filler I get from Michael's


or in bulk through amazon

Glitter -if you like a little extra sparkle.

Gold or silver alcohol ink-This is how I get the gold in my paintings to "jump out" from the panel.

Paint pens- for the veins

Gloves- resin can burn your skin or cause allergic reactions so make sure you have good ventilation or wear a mask even with no VOC resin just in case.

Ok enough of all of that! Here we go!


STEP 1:

Prime your board. It really only takes a few minutes for that coat to dry so you can proceed with with next step pretty shortly after (this step is optional but I like my results better)


STEP 2:

Raise up and level your surface.. and I mean make sure it's SUPER level. I use my solo cups upside down on my table and then use popsicle sticks under them to level it out. The panel HAS to be up off of your table or when the resin drips over the edges it will puddle out from the sides and your art will be ruined. So raised and leveled!

STEP 3:

Take a pencil and lightly draw some guidelines around your piece. I like to also add letters like a B for blue or W for white so I know which color I want where. When you are happy with your design.. Check out my how to video here. https://youtu.be/bmxZAlAOaVY

STEP 4:

Using some super glue I add my Glass glitter to the edge of my piece like so..

This is going to add so much to your piece!! And now you can see sparkle from all angles. Plus if your panel wasn't perfectly level it acts as a backdrop to your glass glitter so it doesn't drip off of your piece. THIS STEP CAN BE SKIPPED IF YOU ARE NOT USING A CUT MDF PANEL. Check out my video on how I did this step here.

https://youtu.be/bmxZAlAOaVY

STEP 5:



Creating a rock boarder. This is an optional step as well and you can do this if you like the look. I personally like it both ways, so when I want to have a rock border this is how I do it. There are multiple different mediums you can use to create a rock border, I like to use mortar that you would use for a adhering tile to a floor or a wall. I like that it cures to be lightweight. Between the resin and the panels these pieces can become heavy very quickly. I like to use the mortar since its lighter than your typical concrete, and can be painted any color. So I haven't tried this yet but spray foam that you would use to seal gaps around your home also works to create a rocklike look. Spray the foam in blobs around the edge where you want the rock to be and wait for it to dry. Once dry you can take a knife and cut it down, from there you will see that you have created a unique rocklike look with bubbles that look very similar to lava rock. Other mediums like modeling paste or sand mediums can also be used, just make sure that your edges are built up enough that the resin doesn't flow over top of your edges.

Video here https://youtu.be/bmxZAlAOaVY



STEP 6:

Using an online resin calculator like this one https://www.artresin.ca/pages/calculator?c=ca

calculate how much resin you need for your project. (Adding a little extra for a geode) Using an online resin calculator like this one calculate how much resin you need for your project. (Adding a little extra for a geode piece

STEP 7:

Mix your resin according to its packaging. *solo cups are measured in ounces and also have lines on the inside so you can make sure you have equal amounts using those lines* Measure out your hardener part first then add your epoxy.. I find it blends better this way and you don't get any sneaky unmixed resin in the bottom of your bucket. Stir in nice slow circles, seriously don't whip it like a whisk.. that adds extra bubbles into your resin. You will stir until your arm is sore or around 3 minutes..

STEP 8:

Pour some of your mixed resin into your clean solo cup -don't re use the one you used to measure with it could have un mixed resin in it.

And then add in some of your pigments or paint. I like to say it's about an inch of paint from a tube. Give that a stir and then take a look at your stick. If the color is too transparent still add a little more paint. Pigments I sort of just shake a little in and then stir and do the same test until I get a good color. Check out my video on how to do this and the next couple of steps here!

https://youtu.be/qB0MBZ0PaMg

STEP 9:

Start pouring! Following your lines using your clean gloved hand to help guide the resin to where you want. Start out with a little pour and then you can always add more after. Follow your design until your whole piece is covered in resin.

STEP 10:

Using your heat gun or torch make passes over your piece to pop the bubbles or to help blend certain sections of your artwork. Don't heat it up too much keeping your heat gun or torch around 12" away from the resin. If you have to go a little closer with the heat gun to blend that is OK just don't bring your resin to a smoking point.

STEP 11:

This is where I would go back in and add my glitter mixed with resin

Extra glass sparkles and/or extra alcohol inks.

I like to take one of my craft sticks and dip it into my ink and just run it along the edge of my glass pieces to let the gold spread out from there. I like the look this gives. *you can also at this point using a gloved hand finish the sides by picking up dripped resin from your surface and lightly applying it to the sides or you can leave it as drips, whichever you prefer.

STEP 12:

Cover your piece so no bugs or dust land on it.

STEP 13:

According to your resin brands recommendations wait until the product has hardened (don't touch the top of your project to test.. if it's not hardened you will have a lovely fingerprint and unless that is how you want to autograph your artwork I wouldn't recommend that) check one of the drips that has come off of your project or on the sides. Once hardened you can add your veins with your paint pens.

STEP 14:

Optional- flood coat. This would be after your paint pens dry another super thin layer of resin can be poured on top to give it an ultra glossy effect. I recommend doing this especially if your paint pens are water based since they could wipe off when you clean your piece or your client cleans your piece.


Let that cure and there you have it!!!!






Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page